Friday, May 29, 2015

The Hawk and the Dove Series by Penelope Wilcock (Book Review!)

The Hawk and the Dove and The Wounds of God and The Long Fall

By Penelope Wilcock

(received in exchange for an honest review)


Genre- Fiction

Published by- Lion Fiction

Copyrighted- These editions are 2015

Number of pages- 174 to 224

Age Group- Adult

Description of book- paperback, listed price- $13.99/book

About the Author-
Penelope Wilcock currently lives in England with her family.  She is a writer and is a former Methodist minister.  Her blog is Kindred of the Quiet Way.

My thoughts-
I really enjoyed reading these three books from the Hawk and the Dove series, by Penelope Wilcock.

I liked the list of the members of the abbey, glossary, schedule of the monastic day, and the liturgical calendar.  I never needed to refer to the list of members, but I found the other extras very helpful.  

I had fun reading the first two books, because they were written in the style of Canterbury Tales, which was written by Chaucer.  I liked reading the story from the narrator’s point-of-view, then her mother’s story about Father Peregrine and his monks.
Wilcock made these monks so much like us, not perfect.  I was glad of that.  I like reading books about people who are like the rest of us.

I think all adults will enjoy reading this series.  I highly recommend it.  I am looking forward to reading the rest of the books in the series.

Disclosure of Material Connection- I received the Hawk and the Dove series, by Penelope Wilcock, for free from the Kregel Publications’ Blog Tour.  All links were current when posted.  I was not required to write a positive review.  The opinions I have expressed are my own or those of my family.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

No comments:

Post a Comment